I’ve been stalking a few blogs for the past couple of years and it was mainly a vehicle to consume something that someone else created. It was not something I’d ever consider doing, though. Not ever. Even in a bazillion years.

But here I am, writing things on the inter-webs. In public. Mainly because I’ve got a lot on my mind and a lot of things that I do or have become. For instance, in any given week I’m a woman, wife, mother, daughter, sister, professional musician, horn player, pianist, teacher and doctoral student. If I have time and/or energy, I can add artist, painter, design enthusiast, occasional diy-er, student of photography, baker, cook, singer, black-thumbed gardener and summer rain watcher. I can also get spiritual but I’m not sure that this is the best place to get into that.

A few years ago I read Mary Catherine Bateson’s Composing a Life and was fascinated by  how she describes creativity and adaptation in women’s lives. My own life has been composed and woven, sometimes with and without my permission. And sometimes the discontinuities I have experienced in my life have gone on to become tremendous creative opportunities. Modern life is complex and worthy of reflection but it’s also worthy of living and doing. Intentionally, if possible.

So, I’m doing. I’m going to write and create and put some of my thoughts out there for the masses to see. Even if only my mother reads it. Even if I get a virtual pie to the face instead of warm bloggy fuzzies.

This is Ella the Wonder Dog.
It always helps to start things off with a cutesy-wootsy pup, right?

Let’s see what happens, shall we?

